My Name’5 Doddie Foundation announced as Sports Book Awards charity partner

April 4, 2019

Doddie Weir Foundation announced as charity of choice at the 2019 Telegraph Sports Book Awards 

The My Name’5 Doddie Foundation has been selected by The Telegraph Sports Book Awards as its charity partner for the ceremony at Lord’s Cricket Ground on June 4th 2019.

Doddie Weir is one of rugby’s most recognised players. Doddie Weir’s My Name’5 Doddie: My Autobiography chartsa rugby career which has had huge highs and shocking lows, Weir faced some of the greatest players in the game, from Jonny Wilkinson to Jonah Lomu, Brian O’Driscoll to Scott Quinnell and Martin Johnson to Joost van der Westhuizen, setting stadiums alight when “on the charge like a mad giraffe”. Now, at the age of 48, Weir is facing an entirely different adversary: motor neuron disease. Weir has never been one to shy away from a challenge, on or off the pitch, and he has faced up to MND with undaunted positivity, using his boundless energy to raise funds for MND research and support, and his Foundation has committed more than £2 million to MND research since it was launched in November 2017.

Doddie’s book also features in the long list for the Best Autobiography of the Year award, alongside a list of sporting legends including Tour De France winner Geraint Thomas, fellow Scot and seven time World Snooker champion Stephen Hendry, Olympic Hockey Gold medalist Sam Quek, England cricketer Moeen Ali, London 2012 Dressage gold medalist Charlotte Dujardin, a host of footballers including Kevin Keegan, Michael Carrick, Peter Crouch, Alan Smith, former Newcastle United footballer Paul Ferris and World Speedway Champion Jonathan Rea.

The Telegraph Sports Book Awards are judged by an outstanding group of sports celebrities, broadcasters and journalists. The judges and judging panels for 2019 include: Dame Katherine Grainger, Christine Ohuruogu, Simon Halliday, Bob Willis, Sir Tim Rice, The Rugby Writers, David Millar, Jill Douglas, Simon Brotherton, Andrew Cotter, Jacquie Beltrao, Brian Moore, Clare Tomlinson, The Football Writers and Rishi Persad.

David Willis, Chairman of The Telegraph Sports Book Awards said, “We are delighted to announce My Name’5 Doddie Foundation as our charity of choice. Doddie’s battle with MND has been nothing short of inspirational and the support behind his quest to raise money for the charity continues to grow and grow’.

Doddie Weir speaking on behalf of the Foundation, said, “I would like to thank the organisers of The Telegraph Sports Book Awards for allowing us the opportunity to become their charity of choice for 2019 ahead of what will be a great year for world rugby. The book awards are a prestigious event and now firmly established in the sporting calendar. And I can now fully appreciate just how much work and effort goes into producing a book – I congratulate all the writers who have made it onto the awards’ long list.”

The winner of the Autobiography of the Year will be announced at the 17th The Telegraph Sports Book Awards, held in early June, which has taken place at Lord’s Cricket Ground for the last three years. The ceremony features ten award categories and is filmed for a highlights programme shown on Sky Sports channels 1, 2 and 3.

Kevin Keegan – My Life In Football Macmillan
Geraint Thomas – The Tour According to G Quercus
Michael Carrick – Between The Lines Blink Publishing
Peter Crouch – How to Be a Footballer Ebury Press
Stephen Hendry – Me and The Table John Blake
Moeen Ali – Moeen Atlantic books
Sam Quek – Hope and a Hockey Stick White Owl
Doddie Weir – My Name’5 Doddie: The Autobiography Black & White Publishing
Charlotte Dujardin – The Girl on the Dancing Horse Preface Publishing
Jonathan Rea – Dream. Believe. Achieve. My Autobiography HarperCollins
Paul Ferris – The Boy On The Shed Hodder & Stoughton
Alan Smith – Heads Up: My Life Story Constable



The 2019 event is the 17th annual awards campaign, previous winners of the Autobiography award include:

2018 – Martine Wright
2017 – Joey Barton
2016 – Max Mosley
2015 – Gareth Thomas
2014 – Jimmy Connors
2013 – David Walsh (combined with biography award)
2012 – Matt Hampson (combined with biography award)
2011 – Brian Moore
2010 – Andre Agassi
2009 – Paul Canoville
2008 – Bobby Charlton
2007 – Paul McGrath
2006 – Frank Bruno
2005 – Nasser Hussain
2004 – Gareth Southgate & Andy Woodman
2003 – Niall Quinn



Autobiography of the Year

International Autobiography of the Year

Biography of the Year

Cricket Book of the Year

Football Book of the Year

Cycling Book of the Year

Illustrated Book of the Year

Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing

Rugby Book of the Year

Sports Health & Fitness Book of the Year



The 2019 Telegraph Sports Book Awards Ceremony – 4th June at Lord’s Cricket Ground










For more information about the Doddie Weir Foundation, visit:




For more information about this story or anything else related to the Sports Book Awards, contact Omar Khan on 07764 299902 or




About The Sports Book Awards:

The Sports Book Awards is the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. The awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year, to showcase their merits and to enhance their reputation and profile.


About Agile Ideas:

Agile Ideas are an awards management & marketing agency. Agile specialise in designing and delivering commercially sustainable prizes and promotions. Agile’s services cover every aspect of campaign and event delivery, from securing sponsorship, to project managing the ceremony itself.


To find out more: