Coe and Wiggins nominated in British Sports Book Awards Shortlists

April 23, 2013

Lord Sebastian Coe and Sir Bradley Wiggins have both been shortlisted for the coveted 2013 British Sports Book Awards, one of the key events in the publishing and sporting calendar. Tipped as the Awards’ strongest ever shortlist, Coe and Wiggins will compete against a ‘who’s who’ from sport and literature at the Awards, which are a celebration of the very best in sports writing.

Nine award categories representing the most high profile sports in the UK will be contested by 56 shortlisted authors at the 11th annual British Sports Book Awards, which will be staged at Lord’s Cricket Ground on 21 May.

Alongside Coe (Running my Life) and Wiggins (My Time) in the hotly contested Autobiography / Biography category are the award-winning Sunday Times journalist and author David Walsh (Seven Deadly Sins) and five-time Olympic gold medallist swimmer Ian Thorpe (This is Me).
Other names who made the headlines both from behind and in front of the cameras in 2012 and who also make the shortlists include Team Sky and Dave Brailsford (21 Days to Glory) in the Illustrated category and Clare Balding (My Animals and Other Family) in the Horse Racing Book of the Year category.

After the individual category winners have been announced on 21 May, each of them will then be promoted in a media and retail campaign before an online public vote will determine the Overall British Sports Book of the Year. The public vote will held on the official website –

Speaking about his shortlist nomination, Sebastian Coe, commented: “Who said sport is not serious. I am very flattered to be included in a list of such serious contributions.

“The last few years have been momentous for British sport so I’m delighted to be a part of an occasion that looks back and celebrates these phenomenal achievements.”

Full List of Shortlisted Nominees:

Best New Writer
Barca: The Making of the Greatest Team in the World by Graham Hunter
Beautiful Brutality: The Family Ties at the Heart of Boxing by Adam Smith
Run Wild by Boff Whalley
Running with the Kenyans: Discovering the secrets of the fastest people on earth by Adharanand Finn
Shot and a Ghost: A Year in the Brutal World of Professional Squash by James Willstrop
Sit Down and Cheer: A history of sport on TV by Martin Kelner

Autobiography / Biography
An Open Book by Darren Clarke
Be Careful What You Wish For by Simon Jordan
Merckx: Half Man Half Bike by William Fotheringham
My Time by Bradley Wiggins
Running My Life by Seb Coe
Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh
The Footballer Who Could Fly by Duncan Hamilton
This Is Me by Ian Thorpe

Cricket Book of the Year
CMJ: A Cricketing Life by Christopher Martin-Jenkins
Gentlemen & Players by Charles Williams
On Warne by Gideon Haigh
The Plan: How Fletcher and Flower Transformed English Cricket by Steve James
The Valiant Cricketer – The Biography of Trevor Bailey by Alan Hill
We’ll Get ’Em in Sequins: Manliness, Yorkshire cricket and the century that changed everything by Max Davidson

Football Book of the Year
Barca: The Making of the Greatest Team in the World by Graham Hunter
Be Careful What You Wish For by Simon Jordan
Does Your Rabbi Know You’re Here: The Story oF English Football’s Forgotten Tribe by Anthony Clavane
Pep Guardiola by Guillem Balague
Richer Than God: Manchester City, Moderrn Football and Growing UP by David Conn
The Outsider by Jonathan Wilson

Rugby Book of the Year
Behind the Lions: Playing Rugby for the British & Irish Lions by Stephen Jones, Tom English, Nick Cain and David Barnes
Brent Pope: If You Really Knew Me by Brent Pope & Kevin MacDermot
My Life As a Hooker by Steven Gauge
The Final Whistle: The Great War in Fifteen Players by Stephen Cooper
The Outsider by Geordan Murphy
Who Beat the All Blacks? by Alun Gibbard

Motorsports Book of the Year
My Chequered Career: Thirty-five years of televising motorsport by Steve Rider
Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall by Peter Warr
That Near Death Thing by Rick Broadbent
Formula 1: All the Races: The World Championship story race by race: 1950-2012 by Roger Smith
Lotus 72 Owners’ Manual by Ian Wagstaff
I Just Made the Tea by Di Spires and Bernard Ferguson

Horse Racing Book of the Year
A Weight Off My Mind by Richard Hughes with Lee Mottershead
Clive Brittain: The Smiling Pioneer by Robin Oakley
Her Majesty’s Pleasure by Julian Muscat
My Animals and Other Family by Clare Balding
Racing Crazy by David Ashforth
When Horse Racing was Horse Racing by Adam Powley

Golf Book of the Year
Out of Bounds by Sam Torrance
An Open Book by Darren Clarke
Miracle at Medinah by Oliver Holt
Bobby’s Open: Mr Jones and the Golf Shot that Defined a Legend by Steven Reid
Seve: Golf’s Flawed Genius by Robert Green
The Bible of Golf by Skellett & Weitzman

21 Days to Glory by Team Sky and Dave Brailsford
A Swing for Life by Nick Faldo
Bike! A Tribute to the World’s Greatest Cycling Designers by Richard Moore & Daniel Benson
Coppi: Inside the legend of the campionissimo by Herbie Sykes
Frankel: The Wonder Horse by edited by Andrew Pennington
The Glory Glory Nights by Martin Cloake and Adam Powley

Publicity Award
Be Careful What You Wish For by Simon Jordan – Bethan Jones
Between the Lines by Victoria Pendleton with Donald McRae by Caroline March
Running My Life by Sebastian Coe – Karen Geary
The Secret Race by Tyler Hamilton – Alison Barrow
Tom Daley: My Story by Tom Daley – Jo Wickham
Unbelievable by Jessica Ennis – Eleni Lawrence and Lucy Zilberkweit