Cross Sports Book Awards going global with new category

April 5, 2016

The major annual promotion for sports writing & publishing has added a worldwide category to its coveted list of awards, it was revealed.

The Cross Sports Book Awards will unveil an ‘International Autobiography of the Year’ accolade for the first time in 2016.

The creation of the new category will see three-time IRB Player of the Year and New Zealand star Dan Carter battle alongside Australian counterpart Michael Lynagh, UFC fighter and USA Olympic Bronze Medalist Ronda Rousey, Australian Formula One icon Mark Webber, Champions League winner and Ivory Coast captain Didier Drogba and former Rangers striker Marco Negri for the award.

All six nominees will hope they can be the first to scoop the International Autobiography of the Year award on June 1.

Dan Carter, who lifted the Rugby World Cup twice for New Zealand in 2011 and 2015, is proud to see his work nominated for the award:

“The book was a big part of my life in 2015 and I’m honoured to have it shortlisted for the International Autobiography of Year award. It’s humbling to be in such great sporting company.”

Chairman David Willis believes that 2016 is the perfect year to launch this new category and expand the awards internationally.

“It’s important that we look inwardly at our own sporting successes and externally at those inspiring accounts going on outside of the UK,” he said.

“From Bolt to Becker, Ponting to Pele, stories of triumph, struggle and dismay, fascinate readers worldwide. It was only appropriate that we should launch a category to applaud the achievements of idolised heroes and the writers of their stories.”

The nominees for the International Autobiography of the Year award is as follows;

Dan Carter The Autobiography of an All Blacks Legend

Didier Drogba – Commitment: My Autobiography

Michael Lynagh and Mark Eglinton – Blindsided

Marco Negri with Jeff Holmes- Moody Blue: The Story of Mysterious Marco

Ronda Rousey – Your Fight, My Fight

Mark Webber – Aussie Grit: My Formula One Journey

The eventual winner of the new prize will stand proud alongside Welsh rugby star Gareth Thomas, who kicked a number of sports stars into touch by winning last year’s Autobiography of the Year prize.

The Sports Book Awards recently announced the continuation of their partnership with A.T Cross and will follow-up on this announcement with more developments in the coming months.