Elite judging panel to select Autobiography of the Year

January 27, 2016

An elite panel of judges will adjudicate this year’s Autobiography of the Year category at the 2016 Cross Sports Book Awards, including Lawrence Dallaglio and Beth Tweddle.

Chaired by the former England hooker Brian Moore, the Autobiography of the Year panel is joined by a who’s who of sporting prestige; world-cup winner Lawrence Dallaglio, Olympic gymnast Beth Tweddle, sports editor for the Mail On Sunday, Alison Kervin and BBC football presenter Manish Bhasin.

The judges will be casting a critical eye over the most compelling autobiographies from the previous year. The 12 books on the longlist cover a wide spectrum of sporting achievement and include two England captains, an England manager, an Ashes winner, two world champions and a champion jockey.

The panel’s experience and expertise cover a wide field in sport, broadcasting and journalism. The six judges will now have the tough decision of cutting down the 12 books on the long list. The esteemed sporting set will now begin to study each entry individually including Steven Gerrard’s My Story which is amongst other highly regarded company including A.P. McCoy, Nigel Mansell and Steve Davis.

Andrew Flintoff, David Lloyd and Phil Tufnell represent the cricketing world whilst Steven Gerrard is joined by Sam Allardyce on the Autobiography of the Year longlist.  Max Moseley is also nominated for the Cross Sports Book Awards Autobiography of the Year for his expansive book about his life and career in Formula One. Ben Cohen and fellow rugby union player Adam Jones are both nominated. Geraint Thomas joins his compatriot Jones on this longlist with his book The World of Cycling according to G.

Brian Moore, who is chairing the Autobiography of the Year category and won the award himself in 2011 said: “I’m thrilled to be a part of the Cross Sports Book Awards again this year. It’s a fantastic campaign and ceremony. I’m joined once again by a stellar cast of sporting stars and journalists who’ll bring their expertise to a tough process. Lawrence has amazing pedigree in the rugby world and Beth is an Olympian who has been top of her field for years. Manish and Alison are revered in their field and have been for many years. It’s an honour to work with them all.”

David Willis, Chairman of the Cross Sports Book Awards added: “It’s absolutely fantastic that we’ve secured such well respected judges to choose a winner for this eminent award. Our longlist is once again filled with fantastic books, full of sporting triumphs, hilarious anecdotes and crushing defeats. Our esteemed panel now have an extremely difficult task to get our 12 man longlist down to six, before selecting a winner.”

The judging panel for the 2015 Cross Sports Book Awards selected inspiring autobiography Proud by Welsh rugby star Gareth Thomas. The former British Lions captain beat tough-tackler Roy Keane and Olympic Gold Medalist Nicole Cooke to scoop the award.

The longlist for the Autobiography of the Year Award:

Sam Allardyce: Big Sam
Ben Cohen: Carry Me Home
Steve Davis: Interesting
Andrew Flintoff: Second Innings
Steven Gerrard: My Story
Adam Jones: Bomb
David Lloyd: Last in the Tin Bath
Nigel Mansell: Staying on Track
A.P. McCoy: Winner: A Racing Life
Max Mosley: Formula One and Beyond
Geraint Thomas: The World of Cycling According to G
Phil Tufnell: Where Am I?

The winner will be announced at the 14th Cross Sports Book Awards which will take place at Lords on June 1st.