England Rugby World Cup legend joins Cycling Book of the Year judging panel

February 17, 2016

England’s 2003 World Cup winning captain Martin Johnson will join a prestigious panel of judges to select the Cycling Book of the Year at the 2016 Cross Sports Book Awards.

Johnson, who represented his country with distinction before becoming England manager in 2008, has crossed the sporting divide and will now oversee the selection of the best cycling literature from the previous twelve months.

The former Leicester Tigers lock picked up 362 appearances at the Midlands club during his 17 year stay at Welford Road Stadium and has now completed the Ride London race as well as being an avid watcher of the Tour de France.

He follows in the footsteps of England teammate Lawrence Dallaglio, who judged the Cycling Book of the Year category at the 2015 Cross Sports Book Awards and will join an esteemed panel which includes former US pro cyclist Christian Vande Velde, young British pro Tao Geoghegan Hart, the BBC’s Simon Brotherton, broadcaster Jill Douglas, Nick Rusling CEO of Human Race, and panel Chairman Andrew Croker, Chairman of the Global Cycling Network.

Martin Johnson, who is delighted to join the Cross Sports Book Awards team said…

“Since retiring from rugby union I’ve become a cycling enthusiast and I’m looking forward to being part of the judging panel for the 2nd Cycling Book of the Year award.”

David Willis, Chairman of the Cross Sports Book Awards said he was honoured to include a World Cup winner in his elite panel of judges.

“Martin is a well-respected sportsman, a legendary rugby player and a keen cyclist and we are delighted to welcome him on board to join our team of judges this year.”

Last year’s winner, The Race Against the Stasi by Herbie Sykes, beat Étape by Richard Moore and 101 Damnations by broadcaster Ned Boulting to be first to the finish and crowned Cycling Book of the Year.

The shortlist for Cycling Book of the Year will be announced towards the end of April.

The winner of this year’s Cycling Book of the Year and winners across the twelve other categories will be announced at the awards ceremony at Lords on June 1st 2016.