Heineken Proud Sponsor of The Rugby Writers Book of the Year 2019

February 19, 2019

Long-term Rugby World Cup sponsor, Heineken®, has been announced as the official sponsor
of the The Rugby Writers Book of the Year for 2019. They will headline the category for the
first time with the award due to be announced at Lord’s Cricket Ground on June 4th.

Heineken has a long association with international rugby – including Rugby World Cups in South
Africa in 1995, Australia in 2003, France in 2007, New Zealand in 2011 and the UK in 2015. Heineken
also supports the European Rugby Champions Cup and European Rugby Challenge Cup and many
of World Rugby’s Sevens tournaments.

Previous rugby winners at the Telegraph Sports Book Awards include Simon Halliday, Chairman
European Rugby; former England and British Lion and Telegraph rugby correspondent, Brian Moore;
the former Wales and British Lions Captain Gareth Thomas; Leicester Tigers forward Matt Hampson;
England Legend Andy Ripley and England’s current Number 8 Billy Vunipola, who won The Rugby
Writers Book of the Year Award in 2018.

The announcement follows on from the news that The Telegraph will become The Sports Book
Awards title sponsor for the next three years.

The Telegraph Sports Book Awards are judged by an outstanding group of sports celebrities,
broadcasters and journalists. The judges and judging panels for 2019 include: Dame Katherine
Grainger, Christine Ohuruogu, Simon Halliday, Bob Willis, Sir Tim Rice, The Rugby Writers, David
Millar, Jill Douglas, Simon Brotherton, Andrew Cotter, Jacquie Beltrao, Clare Tomlinson, The Football
Writers’ Association, Darren Gough, Seema Jaswal and Rishi Persad.
David Willis, Chairman of The Telegraph Sports Book Awards said, “We are delighted to welcome
Heineken on board as title sponsor of the Rugby Writers Book of the Year award and like all sports
fans we are looking forward to the first ever Rugby World Cup in Japan later this year.”

Nic Casby, brand director of Heineken in the UK said, “What better time to support these prestigious
awards than in a Rugby World Cup year! These awards bring together legends in the rugby world –
so settle down with a pint of Heineken, and engross yourself with the shortlist of books… I know that’s
what I’m planning on doing.”

The winner of The Heineken Rugby Writers Book of the Year will be announced at the 17th edition of
The Telegraph Sports Book Awards, held on 4th June, at Lord’s Cricket Ground, the home of The
Sports Book Awards for the last three years. The ceremony features nine award categories with Sky
Sports News on-board as broadcast partner.

Autobiography of the Year
International Autobiography of the Year
Biography of the Year
Cricket Book of the Year
Football Book of the Year
Cycling Book of the Year
Illustrated Book of the Year
Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing
Rugby Book of the Year

Shortlist Launch – 2nd May 2019
The 2019 Telegraph Sports Book Awards Ceremony – 4th June at Lord’s Cricket Ground