April 28, 2014

David Beckham will go head-to-head with Andy Murray, while Ronnie O’Sullivan will take on Jimmy Connors, at a prestigious event this May, with all four stars in contention for top prizes at this year’s British Sports Book Awards. Beckham and Murray will vie for Best Illustrated Book of the Year; while O’Sullivan and Connors are among the eight-strong shortlist for Autobiography/Biography of the Year. The winners of both awards will be announced at a star-studded ceremony being held at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London, on Wednesday, 21st May, and hosted by Jonathan Agnew.

Andrew Strauss, Katherine Grainger and Dennis Bergkamp join O’Sullivan and Connors on the shortlist for Autobiography/Biography of the Year, with Alistair and Jonathan Brownlee, former referee Mark Halsey, and Brough Scott’s portrait of trainer, Henry Cecil, completing the list, in one of the strongest line-ups in the 12-year history of the awards.

Other awards to be presented on the night are Football Book of the Year, with shortlisted titles including Guillem Balague’s biography of Lionel Messi, and Sid Lowe’s Fear and Loathing in La Liga; Cricket Book of The Year, featuring The Little Wonder: A History of Wisden by Rob Winder and James Astill’s story of cricket and corruption in India, The Great Tamasha; Rugby Book of the Year, which sees Ronan O’Gara’s autobiography, pitted against Calon, Owen Sheers’ journey into the heart of Welsh rugby; and Horse Racing Book of the Year, with contenders including the true-life thriller, Doped, by Jamie Reid, and the self-published Skint Mob! Tales from the Betting Ring by Simon Nott.

There are also two awards celebrating the best of sports writing – Outstanding Sports Writing, with Ned Boulting and John Hopkins, among the six shortlisted; and New Writer of the Year which sees Tim Lewis, author of The Land of Second Chances, the story of the Rwandan cycling team, up against Clarke Carlisle’s autobiography, You Don’t Know Me But…

After the individual category winners have been announced on 21 May, each will then be promoted in a media and retail campaign with an online public vote determining the Overall British Sports Book of the Year. The public vote will held on the official website –

For further information contact: Jane Beaton, 07802 433471.

Click here to see the shortlists.