Steven Gerrard & Sir Anthony McCoy lead impressive Cross Sports Book Awards shortlists

April 28, 2016

The shortlists for the 2016 Cross Sports Book awards have been announced with an England captain and three world champions competing for the Best Autobiography of the Year prize.

LA Galaxy’s Steven Gerrard and champion jockey Sir Anthony McCoy are the two leading names in the running for the prestigious award at this year’s ceremony.

Gerrard and McCoy are joined by 1992 Formula One world champion Nigel Mansell, six time snooker world champion Steve Davis, former-FIA president Max Mosley and Sky Sports cricket broadcaster David ‘Bumble’ Lloyd.

The 2016 awards will be presented by Sky Sports news presenter Mike Wedderburn and Test Match Special’s Alison Mitchell which takes place at Lord’s Cricket Ground on 1st June. An hour long highlights show will be shown on Sky Sports with multiple repeat shows on June 4th and 5th.

Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo will compete with Arsenal Manager Arsene Wenger in two categories this year, the Biography of the Year and the Football Book of the Year.

Ronaldo and Wenger will face tough competition from Michael Calvin, who will be hoping to secure the Football Book of the Year award with Living on the Volcano following successive wins for The Nowhere Men in 2014 and his collaboration with Gareth Thomas’ Proud last year.

The fastest man in the world Usain Bolt could help Richard Moore sprint to victory with his book The Bolt Supremacy in the General Outstanding Sports Writing Award, whilst Donald McRae could collect two awards on the night, if his collaboration with Steven Gerrard and A Man’s World win awards in the Autobiography and Biography categories respectively.

New Zealand Rugby World Cup winner Dan Carter and Chelsea’s two time African Player of the Year Didier Drogba are nominated in the inaugural Cross International Autobiography of the Year category. Carter is joined by Formula One star Mark Webber, Australian Rugby World Cup winner Michael Lynagh, former Rangers striker Marco Negri whilst former UFC Champion Ronda Rousey joins a highly sought-after category.

British Lions rugby players Adam Jones and Stephen Ferris head up the Rugby Book of the Year award, whilst former Team GB cycling team mates Dave Millar and Geraint Thomas go head to head in titles about the Tour de France.

After the individual category winners have been announced on 1st June, each winner will then be promoted in a media and retail campaign with an online public vote determining the Overall Cross Sports Book of the Year. Everyone that enters the public vote will be entered into a draw to win National Book Tokens.

The list of full nominated titles:

Cross Autobiography of the Year

Steve Davis ‘Interesting’ Ebury
Steven Gerrard ‘My Story’ Penguin
David Lloyd ‘Last in the Tin Bath’ Simon & Schuster
Nigel Mansell ‘Staying on Track’ Simon & Schuster
AP McCoy ‘Winner’ Orion
Max Mosley ‘Formula One and Beyond’ Simon & Schuster

The Times Biography of the Year

Guillem Balague ‘Cristiano Ronaldo’ Orion
Andy Bull ‘Speed Kings’ Bantam Press
John Cross ‘Arsene Wenger’ Simon & Schuster
Donald McRae ‘A Man’s World’ Simon & Schuster
Richard Tomlinson ‘ Amazing Grace: The Man Who Was W.G.’ Little, Brown
Luke G. Williams ‘Richmond Unchained: The Biography of the World’s First Black Sporting Star’ Amberley

Littlehampton Book Services Cricket Book of the Year

Scyld Berry ‘Cricket: The Game of Life’ Hodder & Stoughton
Stephen Chalke ‘Summer’s Crown’ Fairfield Books
Steve James ‘The Art of Centuries’ Bantam Press
Tim Lane and Elliot Cartledge ‘Chasing Shadows: The Life and Death of Peter Roebuck’ Hardie Grant Books
Simon Lister ‘Fire in Babylon’ Yellow Jersey Press
Richard Tomlinson ‘Amazing Grace: The Man Who Was W. G.’ Little, Brown

Cycling Book of the Year

Peter Cossins ‘Alpe D’Huez – The Story of Pro Cycling’s Greatest Climb’ Aurum Press
William Fotheringham ‘Bernard Hinault & the Fall & Rise of French Cycling’ Yellow Jersey Press
Ian MacGregor ‘To Hell on a Bike’ Bantam Press
Dave Millar ‘The Racer’ Yellow Jersey Press
Edward Pickering ‘The Yellow Jersey Club’ Bantam Press
Geraint Thomas ‘The World of Cycling According to G’ Quercus

Barclays Football Book of the Year

Guillem Balague ‘Cristiano Ronaldo’ Orion
Michael Calvin ‘Living on the Volcano’ Century
John Cross ‘Arsene Wenger’ Simon & Schuster
Andrew Jennings ‘The Dirty Game’ Century
James Lawton ‘The Forever Boys’ Wisden
Ronald Reng ‘Matchdays’ Simon & Schuster

Blink Publishing General Outstanding Sports Writing Award

Darren Barker with Ian Ridley ‘A Dazzling Darkness: The Darren Barker Story’ Floodlit Dreams
Ed Caesar ‘Two Hours: The Quest to Run the Impossible Marathon’ Viking
John Daniell ‘The Fixer’ Saltway
Willie Finnegan ‘Barbarian Days A Surfing Life’ Little, Brown
Richard Moore ‘The Bolt Supremacy’ Yellow Jersey Press
William Skidelsky ‘Federer and Me: A Story of Obsession’ Yellow Jersey Press

Illustrated Book of the Year 

Matthew Baird ‘Triathlon! A tribute to the world’s greatest triathletes, courses and gear’ Aurum Press
Paul Connolly ‘Richie Benaud: Those Summers of Cricket 1930-2015’ Hardie Grant Books
‘Tour de France 2015 – The Official Review’ Vision Sports Publishing
Bob Martin ‘1/100th – The Sports Photography of Bob Martin’ Vision Sports Publishing
Roger McStravick ‘St Andrews in the Footsteps of Old Tom Morris’ St Andrews Press
Mark Platt ‘This is Anfield’ Carlton Books

Cross International Autobiography of the Year Award

Dan Carter ‘Dan Carter: The Autobiography of an All Blacks Legend’ Headline
Didier Drogba ‘Commitment: My Autobiography’ Hodder & Stoughton
Michael Lynagh and Mark Eglinton ‘Blindsided’ HarperSport
Marco Negri with Jeff Holmes ‘Moody Blue: The Story of Mysterious Marco’ Pitch Publishing
Ronda Rousey ‘My Fight, Your Fight’ Arrow
Mark Webber ‘Aussie Grit’ Pan Macmillan

Freshtime New Writer of the Year 

Emily Bullock ‘The Longest Fight’ Myriad Editions
Ed Caesar ‘Two Hours: The Quest to Run the Impossible Marathon’ Viking
Lucy Fry ‘Run, Ride, Sink or Swim’ Faber & Faber
Martin Hardy ‘Touching Distance’ DeCoubertin Books
Lizzy Hawker ‘Runner – A short story about a long run’ Aurum Press
Anne Lauppe-Dunbar ‘Dark Mermaids’ Seren Books

Arbuthnot Latham Rugby Book of the Year

Tony Collins ‘The Oval World: A Global History of Rugby’ Bloomsbury
Stephen Cooper ‘After the Final Whistle’ History Press
Tom English ‘No Borders: Playing Rugby for Ireland’ Arena Sport
Stephen Ferris ‘Man and Ball’ Transworld Ireland
Adam Jones ‘Bomb: My Autobiography’ Headline
Phil Larder with Nicholas Bishop ‘The Iron Curtain – My Rugby Journey from League to Union’ Pitch Publishing