The Professional Cricketers’ Association’s Benevolent Fund announced as charity of choice at the 15th Cross Sports Book Awards.

February 1, 2017

The Professional Cricketers’ Association’s (PCA) Benevolent Fund has been selected by the Cross Sports Book Awards as its charity partner for the ceremony at Lord’s Cricket Ground on Wednesday May 24th.

The PCA is the representative body of past and present first class cricketers in England and Wales, since the organisation was founded in 1967 and celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2017.

The PCA is embarking on a major fund raising initiative to raise £250,000 for the Benevolent Fund to ensure they can keep delivering key services to all members.

The Benevolent Fund helps former and current cricketers and their immediate family members in times of hardship and upheaval by providing vital funding for operations, helping those who are having difficulty adjusting to life after cricket find an alternative career and helping current players with professional support and expert advice.

The Cross Sports Book Awards has a stellar group of judges for the Cricket Book of the Year award, including former England Captain Bob Willis, fellow Sky Sports pundit Paul Allot and former England Women’s World Cup winner Isa Ghua.

David Leatherdale, CEO of the PCA commented: “We are extremely grateful the PCA Benevolent Fund has been selected as charity of choice by the Cross Sports Book Awards, in our Golden Jubilee year. It is a privilege to be involved in such a prestigious event, and the funds raised on the night will continue to help cricketers who fall on hard times.”

Jonathan Trott, England’s three time Ashes winner and Warwickshire batsman who has been nominated in the longlist for the much sought after Best Autobiography of the Year award said: “I’m delighted to be nominated at the Cross Sports Book Awards, especially as it’s in a year where the PCA Benevolent Fund have been chosen as their official charity of choice.

“To be nominated for the Best Autobiography award which has previously had Nasser Hussain as winner is an honour in itself so I’m looking forward to the ceremony in May.”

David Willis, Chairman of the Cross Sports Book Awards added: “The work that the PCA does is fantastic and we are looking forward to helping them raise funds for the Benevolent Fund.”

The winner of the Autobiography of the year will be announced at the 15th Cross Sports Book Awards Ceremony which takes place at Lord’s Cricket Ground on May 24th 2017. The ceremony features 12 other award categories and highlights will be broadcast on Sky Sports.

The final shortlist for the Autobiography award will be announced alongside those from all the other categories in the Cross Sports Book Awards at the end of April 2017.

Autobiography of the Year longlist 2017 in alphabetical author order:

No Nonsense by Joey Barton, Simon & Schuster (Football)
Triumphs & Turbulence by Chris Boardman, Ebury (Cycling)
What Doesn’t Kill You by Johnny Herbert, Transworld (F1)
Watching the Wheels by Damon Hill, Macmillan (F1)
This Mum Runs by Jo Pavey, Yellow Jersey (Athletics)
Unexpected by Greg Rutherford, Simon & Schuster (Athletics)
Firestarter by Ben Stokes, Headline (Cricket)
Unguarded by Jonathan Trott, Sphere (Cricket)
The Inside Track by Laura & Jason Kenny, Michael O’Mara (Cycling)
From Nowhere by Jamie Vardy, Ebury (Football)
The Man in the Middle by Howard Webb, Simon & Schuster (Football)
A Life in Football by Ian Wright, Constable (Football)

The 2017 event is the 15th annual awards campaign, previous winners of the Autobiography award include:

2016 – Max Mosley
2015 – Gareth Thomas
2014 – Jimmy Connors
2013 – David Walsh (combined with biography award)
2012 – Matt Hampson (combined with biography award)
2011 – Brian Moore
2010 – Andre Agassi
2009 – Paul Canoville
2008 – Bobby Charlton
2007 – Paul McGrath
2006 – Frank Bruno
2005 – Nasser Hussain
2004 – Gareth Southgate & Andy Woodman
2003 – Niall Quinn