The six books that will battle for the prestigious Cross Autobiography of the Year Award revealed

April 3, 2017

Following months of reading for a select panel of judges, former Formula One champion Damon Hill, former Ashes winner and England cricketer Jonathan Trott, long distance Olympic runner Jo Pavey, Arsenal and England football legend Ian Wright, the ever controversial footballer Joey Barton and London 2012 Olympic long jump gold medallist Greg Rutherford, will all now be in the running for the 2017 award.

The 15th Cross Sports Book Awards will take place at Lord’s Cricket Ground on the evening of May 24th and will be hosted by Sky Sports News host Mike Wedderburn and Test Match Special’s Alison Mitchell.

This year’s panel of judges for the prestigious best autobiography award include former England rugby star Brian Moore, Olympic rowing gold medallist Dame Katherine Grainger, National Hunt champion jockey trainer Paul Nicholls, Sky Sports La Liga pundit Guillem Balague, sports editor of the Mail on Sunday Alison Kervin and Middlesex and England cricketer Nick Compton.

Damon Hill fresh from an exciting start to the Formula One season in Australia is overjoyed to be surrounded by sporting greats across football, athletics and cricket “It’s an honour to be included in the shortlist for the 2017 Cross Sports Book Awards, and I am delighted to be nominated alongside a talented group of sportsmen and women”

David Willis Chairman of the Sports Book Awards said, “Once again we have a great group of nominees in what is always a hugely competitive category. We look forward to seeing who our 2017 winner is at Lord’s in May as we celebrate 15 years of the Cross Sports Book Awards.”

Sponsored by major international manufacturer of quality writing instruments A.T. Cross, the Autobiography of the Year Award celebrates and promotes the best memoirs from the previous twelve months.

Nicola Shepherd, Marketing Director at A.T. Cross commented: “The power of putting pen to paper is clearly demonstrated by this group of elite sportsmen and women and I look forward to celebrating the winner who has truly made their mark at the awards ceremony.”

The shortlist for the Cross Autobiography of the Year Award:
No Nonsense by Joey Barton (Simon & Schuster)
Watching the Wheels by Damon Hill (Macmillan)
This Mum Runs by Jo Pavey (Yellow Jersey, PRH)
Unexpected by Greg Rutherford (Simon & Schuster)
Unguarded by Jonathan Trott (Sphere, Little Brown)
A Life in Football by Ian Wright (Constable, Little Brown)

The 2017 event is the 15th annual awards campaign, previous winners of the Autobiography award include:

2016 – Max Mosley
2015 – Gareth Thomas
2014 – Jimmy Connors
2013 – David Walsh (combined with biography award)
2012 – Matt Hampson (combined with biography award)
2011 – Brian Moore
2010 – Andre Agassi
2009 – Paul Canoville
2008 – Bobby Charlton
2007 – Paul McGrath
2006 – Frank Bruno
2005 – Nasser Hussain
2004 – Gareth Southgate & Andy Woodman
2003 – Niall Quinn