Twelve become six as Cross Sports Book Awards announce shortlist

March 23, 2016

The six books that will battle for the prestigious Cross Autobiography of the Year award at the 2016 Cross Sports Book Awards have been revealed.

Following months of reading for a select panel of judges, former Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard, champion jockey AP McCoy, FIA President Max Mosley, former Lancashire cricketer and England Coach David Lloyd, seven time world snooker champion Steve Davis and 1992 Formula One Champion Nigel Mansell will all now compete for the award.

All six nominees will now hope to follow in the footsteps of Welsh rugby legend Gareth Thomas, who scooped the award in 2015, with the recipient of the prize announced at Lord’s on June 1.

David Willis, Chairman of the Cross Sports Book Awards, is proud to see such eminent names on the shortlist;

“The judging panel have had a really difficult choice to choose six books out of twelve fantastic books. I look forward to seeing who wins the prize in June.”

The calibre of nominees involved in the Autobiography of the Year category secures its place as a highly-coveted award for authors and athletes alike.

The nominees for the Cross Autobiography of the Year award are;

Steve Davis Interesting

Steven Gerrard – My Story

David Lloyd – Last in the Tin Bath

Nigel Mansell – Staying on Track

A.P. McCoy – Winner

Max Mosley – Formula One and Beyond

Steven Gerrard, who Zinedine Zidane heralded as ‘the best player in the world’, is overjoyed to be surrounded by sporting greats and nominated for a prestigious award.

“It’s an honour to be included in the shortlist for the 2016 Cross Sports Book Awards. I feel privileged to be nominated alongside such esteemed sporting company.”

Sponsored by major international manufacturer of fine writing instruments A.T. Cross, the Autobiography of the Year award celebrates and promotes the best memoirs from the previous twelve months.