Tyson Fury and Ben Stokes lead impressive Best Autobiography Award Longlist at The Telegraph Sports Book Awards 2020.

December 17, 2019

To cap a momentous year, BEHIND THE MASK, Tyson Fury’s heart-warming and funny tale of his rise, fall and rise again from Gypsy king, to People’s champion, has been included on the longlist of twelve titles for the Telegraph Sports book Awards Autobiography of the Year.

The winner of the award will be revealed at Lord’s Cricket Ground on June 2nd 2020.

Commenting on the news Tyson said: ‘It’s an honour to be included in the list for The Telegraph Sports Book Awards 2020. I feel privileged to be nominated alongside some true sporting greats.’

Fresh from his win at the BBC Sports Personality of the Year, Ben Stokes’ book; ON FIRE has also been included in the longlist, recalling that great day in July when he spearheaded England’s first World Cup win in such dramatic fashion. He is joined on the list by a memoir from fellow cricketer and former England captain Alastair Cook. England’s greatest ever batsman expertly delves into the psychology of the game. BOWL. SLEEP. REPEAT from England’s greatest ever bowler James Anderson completes a strong Cricketing contingent, with an insightful and entertaining assessment of life inside the dressing room.

The Football team of the year so far, Liverpool, feature prominently on the longlist with books from former players and club mates: Michael Owen, REBOOT,  and Emile Heskey; EVEN HESKEY SCORED. Three other soccer players compete for the prestigious Sports Autobiography of the year; Mark Bright’s brutally honest; MY STORY; FROM FOSTER CARE TO FOOTBALLER. England women’s and now Juventus player Eni Aluko’s; THEY DON’T TEACH THIS and Gary Lineker’s collaboration with Danny Baker; BEHIND CLOSED DOORS inspired by the no1. Podcast.

Welsh grand-slam winning captain; Sam Warburton has produced a no holds-barred review of his career in OPEN SIDE which joins the others on the list alongside arguably the best ever netballer and Commonwealth Games Gold medallist; Geva Mentor’s book; LEAP.

Completing the list is a full-throttle memoir from one of UK motor racing’s biggest characters; Jason Plato’s HOW NOT TO BE A PROFESSIONAL RACING DRIVER.

The Telegraph Sports Book Awards are judged by an outstanding group of sports celebrities, broadcasters and journalists. The judging panels for 2020 include: Louise Minchin, Christine Ohuruogu, Simon Halliday, Sir Tim Rice, Dame Katherine Grainger, The Rugby Writers, David Millar, Jill Douglas, Simon Brotherton, Andrew Cotter, Jacquie Beltrao, Clare Tomlinson, Brian Moore, Darren Gough, The Football Writers and Rishi Persad.

David Willis, Chairman of The Telegraph Sports Book Awards said, “Our 2020 longlist is once again packed with sporting greats and legendary sports stars from the UK. Any of these fantastic new books would make perfect Christmas gifts and I don’t envy the task of the judging panel to select the best sports Autobiography of the Year”.

The winner of the Autobiography of the Year will be announced at the 18th The Telegraph Sports Book Awards, held in early June, which has taken place at Lord’s Cricket Ground for the last seven years. The ceremony features ten award categories and is filmed for a highlights programme shown on Sky Sports channels 1, 2 and 3.

The final shortlist for the award will be announced alongside those from all the other categories in The Telegraph Sports Book Awards in April 2020.

Autobiography of the Year Longlist 2020
Alastair Cook: The Autobiography Alastair Cook (Michael Joseph)
Open Side Sam Warburton (HarperCollins)
They Don’t Teach This Eni Aluko (Yellow Jersey)
My Story: From Foster Care to Footballer Mark Bright (Constable)
Bowl. Sleep. Repeat James Anderson (Octopus Books)
Behind the Mask Tyson Fury (Century)
Reboot Michael Owen (Reach Sport)
How Not to be a Professional Racing Driver Jason Plato (Michael Joseph)
Even Heskey Scored Emile Heskey (Pitch Publishing)
Leap Geva Mentor (Coronet)
On Fire Ben Stokes (Headline)
Behind Closed Doors Gary Lineker/Danny Baker (Century)

The 2020 event is the 18th annual awards campaign, previous winners of the Autobiography award include:
2019 – Paul Ferris
2018 – Martine Wright
2017 –  Joey Barton
2016 – Max Mosley
2015 – Gareth Thomas
2014 – Jimmy Connors
2013 – David Walsh (combined with biography award)
2012 – Matt Hampson (combined with biography award)
2011 – Brian Moore
2010 – Andre Agassi
2009 – Paul Canonville
2008 – Bobby Charlton
2007 – Paul McGrath
2006 – Frank Bruno
2005 – Nasser Hussain
2004 – Gareth Southgate & Andy Woodman
2003 – Niall Quinn