joeybartonmikecalvinThe Sports Book Awards is the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing, the awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year, to showcase their merits and to enhance their reputation and profile.

“The Sports Book Awards are a great event in our sporting calendar. They show that the games we follow are not just about goals and runs and holes in one; they are about stories, history and personalities.”
David Cameron, former Prime Minister.

Key dates 2018:
10th January – Submissions close
10th May – Shortlist launch/judging day
7th June – Sports Book Awards 2018 Ceremony


Full 2018 shortlists announced at launch event on May 10th


Autobiography of the Year
International Autobiography of the Year
Biography of the Year
Cricket Book of the Year
Football Book of the Year
Rugby Book of the Year
Cycling Book of the Year
Illustrated Book of the Year
General Outstanding Book of the Year
Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing