Children’s Sports Book of the Year

About The Award

The Sports Book Awards Children’s Sports Book of the Year encompassed a broad range of excellent Children’s titles. Our judging panels face the daunting task of comparing picture books with YA titles, fiction with factual, but the judging criteria ensures the winning book encourages a love of reading through sports & physical activity, using sports & sporting stories to inspire it’s young readers.   

In association with

Children's Sports Book of the year, in association with the national literacy trust Shortlist 2021_

Rocky Of The Rovers
Tom Palmer
Rashford Rules
Simon Mugford, Dan Green
Own Goal!
Paul Stewart
My Greatest Football Team Ever
Tom Fordyce
Macbeth United
Michael Rosen
Karate Kids
Holly Sterling
Johnny Ball: Accidental Football Genius
Matt Oldfield
Chasing A Rugby Dream
James Hook

Children's Sports Book of the year Winner 2020_

Unbelievable Football

By Matt Oldfield

Do you think you know everything there is to know about football?

Discover the most incredible, sometimes ridiculous, and always completely unbelievable football stories you never knew. From bestselling author Matt Oldfield, this is Unbelievable Football – true tales from the world’s favourite game where there’s everything to play for and anything can happen.

Unbelievable Football by Matt Oldfield

Previous Winners