Headline Sponsor and Autobiography Shortlist Announced

April 28, 2024
SBA Autobiography Announcement Twitter

The 2024 Sports Book Awards, in association with The Sunday Times, has announced its new Headline Sponsor – Charles Tyrwhitt. This exciting collaboration promises to elevate the event and celebration of outstanding sports books.

Additionally, the awards have unveiled the Shortlist for The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards Autobiography of the Year, in association with The Sunday Times, which recognises compelling stories from the world of sports. Stuart Broad, Dame Kelly Holmes, Ronnie O’Sullivan, Kevin Sinfield and Maggie Alphonsi are some of the leading industry figures among those nominated.

The Sports Book Awards is thrilled to unveil its new Headline Sponsor, Charles Tyrwhitt, a distinguished British clothing brand renowned for its high-quality and timeless style. Charles Tyrwhitt takes immense pride in partnering with causes close to its heart and has a long history of supporting sports players and teams that uphold the values of excellence and integrity. Charles Tyrwhitt’s sponsorship partnerships include England Rugby, New York Jets, and Fulham Football Club.
Now in its 22nd Year, the Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times is a major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. The awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year to showcase their merits and to enhance their reputation and profile.


Commenting on the announcement, Charles Tyrwhitt Chief Marketing Officer, Joe Irons, has said:
“We are delighted to be announcing our title partnership with The Sports Book Awards, with The Sunday Times as media partner. It’s a prestigious announcement for us and we are looking forward to enhancing a campaign that features some of the greatest sports men and women.”

The Charles Tyrwhitt Autobiography of the Year, in association with the Sunday Times, shortlist has also been unveiled today. These eight captivating autobiographies offer glimpses into the lives of remarkable individuals who have left their enduring mark on the world of sports. The full shortlist for this category is:

Broadly Speaking, Stuart Broad (Hodder & Stoughton)
As an integral member of some of the greatest England teams of all time, Stuart Broad is the ultimate competitor, a multiple Ashes winner, and World Champion. His candid and revealing memoir, Broadly Speaking, charts the personal journey behind his cricket greatness and incredible career.

Carl Frampton: My Autobiography, Carl Frampton with Paul Gibson (Merrion Press)
The fearless, fast-paced autobiography of World-Title-winning boxer and Belfast hero, Carl Frampton, is a uniquely intimate account of a true modern-day sporting great and a local hero like no other.

Kammy, Chris Kamara (Pan Macmillan)
Kammy is an unforgettable ride from one of Britain’s best-loved broadcasters, with entertaining stories about his career from Pompey to Leeds and beyond, his management at Bradford City and Stoke, his world travels, his varied presenting career, and the incredible friendships he has made along the way.

The Extra Mile, Kevin Sinfield with Paul Hayward (Century)
The extraordinary memoir from the sporting icon, devoted friend, and fundraising hero, Kevin Sinfield, is a truly inspirational and life-affirming read. As well as being a legend of rugby league, Sinfield has inspired the nation through his relentless fight to help those living with MND through fundraising and awareness.

Unbreakable, Ronnie O’Sullivan with Tom Fordyce (Seven Dials, Orion)
Framed around twelve lessons Ronnie learned from his extraordinary three-decade career, Unbreakable is the unflinching and candid memoir from the world’s greatest snooker player – Ronnie O'Sullivan. Unbreakable is a fascinating insight into a true British icon, covering the triumphs, mistakes, and extremes of peak performance.

Unique - A Memoir, Dame Kelly Holmes (Mirror Books)
In national treasure Dame Kelly Holmes’ most personal book yet, she tells the true story behind her extraordinary life – from her recruitment in the army to becoming an Olympic hero and now much-loved TV personality. This honest memoir is a tale of self-discovery, overcoming struggles, and learning to be true to yourself.

Who am I?, Danny Cipriani with Ben Dirs (HarperCollins)
Talented Danny Cipriani’s powerful memoir reveals his battle through the pressures and chaos of fame. With honest reflections on addiction, his relationships with women, suicidal thoughts, as well as his infinite passion and dreams, Danny tries to finally answer the question – Who Am I?

Winning the Fight, Maggie Alphonsi with Gavin Mairs (Polaris Publishing Ltd)
Maggie Alphonsi’s life story is an against-all-the-odds tale about how she became the best player in the world despite battling against racism, sexism, and prejudice. It is a book forged from the raw emotion and passion of an iconic player who overcame all challenges to rise to the elite of world sport.


Dame Kelly Holmes, the double Olympic Gold medallist has said of her nomination:
“It’s my second nomination at The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards and it’s a real honour to be featuring in a category with some amazing sportsmen and women. I’m truly delighted to be nominated in the Best Autobiography category.”


Kevin Sinfield, former Leeds Rhinos rugby league player, whose book was the bestselling sports book of 2023, has commented:
“I’m very proud of the book spanning my life and career – in rugby to now. Through my challenges, I have been able to support the MND community and am thankful to The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards for my nomination”.

The shortlists of a further ten categories will be announced on 5th May:

● The Vikki Orvice Women's Sports Writing Award in association with DAZN
● Pinsent Masons Sports Writing Award
● Children’s Sports Book of the Year, supported by the National Literacy Trust & Waterstones
● The Heartaches’ Cricket Book of the Year
● Cycling Book of the Year
● Football Book of the Year, in association with the Football Writers’ Association
● The JP Marland Charitable Trust Illustrated Book of the Year
● International Sports Book of the Year
● Charles Tyrwhitt Rugby Book of the Year, in association with the Rugby Union Writers’ Club
● Sports Entertainment Book of the Year

The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards are thrilled to welcome DAZN as a new category sponsor. The Vikki Orvice Women's Sports Writing Award, in association with DAZN, has been created in memory of the late Vikki Orvice – an exceptional sports journalist who played a pivotal role in advocating for female sports writing. DAZN is a ground-breaking live and on-demand sports streaming platform that gives sports fans control and flexibility to watch their sports, their way.

The Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards are judged by an outstanding academy, including: The Football Writers’ Association, The Rugby Union Writers’ Club, The Cricket Society, National Literacy Trust, Christine Ohuruogu, Mark Pougatch, Annie Vernon, Simon Halliday, Jill Douglas, Emma Paton, Jeanette Kwakye, Amy Williams, Sue Anstiss, Sir Tim Rice, Miles Jupp, and Simon Brotherton.

A public vote will also open on 5th May for two categories: The Charles Tyrwhitt Autobiography of the Year and Sports Entertainment Book of the Year. Votes can be placed here: sportsbookawards.com/vote

The winners of the Charles Tyrwhitt Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times will be presented at a star-studded ceremony on 6th June at the iconic Kia Oval, hosted by Mark Pougatch.